All CDDRL News News February 8, 2021

Statement from LNC Alumni on Myanmar (Burma)

We, the alumni of the Draper Hills Summer Fellowship Program and faculty at Stanford University, call on General Min Aung Hlaing and the military’s leadership in Burma to immediately release, without conditions, State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi, President Win Myint, other civilian leaders, and members of parliament. If the military chose to ignore the international community’s call for justice and respect for the recent election results, we strongly urge the Biden administration and others to take immediate action by imposing sanctions against the Naypyidaw regime including placing those responsible for the military coup on the annual U.S. Global Magnitsky sanctions list. 

The coup is a sharp reversal of the partial yet significant progress toward democracy Burma has made over the past decade. The military’s action is reckless and has put Burma on a perilous path. As supporters of democratic norms and the rule of law, we therefore reiterate the need for the military and all other parties to adhere to fundamental democratic principles and respect the wish of the Burmese people in last year’s election which has been deemed free and fair by the country’s own national election commission. 

Tens of thousands of ordinary Burmese including nurses, teachers, civil servants, and monks have taken to the streets in major cities across Burma in the last few days to denounce last week’s coup and we join their call for a general strike and civil disobedience campaign to denounce the military’s action. Should their rights to expression, assembly, and peaceful protest be violated in the weeks to come, we strongly urge the international community to respond with appropriate and proportional action to encourage a quick return to civilian rule while punishing those deemed responsible for the illegal takeover. 

We invite everyone to join our call and stand with the Burmese people during this time. 

Francis Fukuyama, Mosbacheer Director, Stanford CDDRL
Mauren Odouri, International Development expert
Befekadu Hailu, Center for Advancement of Rights and Democracy (CARD) 
Victor Liakh, President, East Europe Foundation
Atit Koirala, LAD alum
ElsaMarie DSilva, Red Dot Foundation
Laura Gil, Director, La Línea del Medio
Nino Esakia, Government annd Public Sector, EY
Ujwal Thapa, Founder and President, Bibeksheel Nepali
Janaina Homerin
Shakhrukh Irnazarov, Uzbekistan
Astrid Escobedo, Abogada Independiente
Hoi Trinh, Lawyer/Co-founder of VOICE
Udo Jude Ilo, Nigeria
Isabel Amorim, Ecad
Ahmed Salah, Egyptian Democracy and Human Rights Activist
Vasil Managadze, Little Kakheti, Ltd. 
Aung Zlay Hlaing, University of Siena
Huong Le
Bechir El Hassen, Amin Group CEO
Maya Piscevic, Atlantic Council
Lauren Weitzman, Stanford CDDRL
Sasha Jason, Stanford CDDRL