FSI, former CESP senior fellows share Nobel honor


Al Gore with wife Tipper and Stanford professors Stephen Schneider (l) and Thomas Heller.
Photo credit: 
L.A. Cicero

Oct. 12, 2007--The Nobel Peace Prize has been jointly awarded to former Vice President Albert Arnold Gore Jr. and the United Nations' Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), a network of 2,000 scientists that includes Thomas C. Heller, the Lewis Talbot and Nadine Hearn Shelton Professor of International Legal Studies and FSI senior fellow; Stephen Schneider, the Melvin and Joan Lane Professor for Interdisciplinary Environmental Studies and former CESP co-director and senior fellow; and Terry Root, professor of biological sciences, by courtesy, and former CESP senior fellow.

For the last 20 years, the IPCC "has created an ever-broader informed consensus about the connection between human activities and global warming," the Norwegian Nobel Committee said today in a statement.

"By awarding the Nobel Peace Prize for 2007 to the IPCC and Al Gore, the Norwegian Nobel Committee is seeking to contribute to a sharper focus on the processes and decisions that appear to be necessary to protect the world's future climate, and thereby to reduce the threat to the security of mankind. Action is necessary now, before climate change moves beyond man's control."

Heller, Root, and Schneider joined Gore at a press conference in Palo Alto today.